Taste in Genres

This 2014 movie, Spring, was quite odd to me because of the whole supernatural aspect to it. I found that some parts of the beginning were a tad bit unnecessary, making it dragging and quite hard to latch on to the film early. Especially with the odd transition into when the main character, Lou, starts to settle down in Italy and then as the audience you’re being given a twist that this movie has a somewhat “romantic-horror” kind of sub genre to it. It (the script) was a little messy to me in terms of the way was written because there were so many aspects to it that I felt didn’t really flow work or well together rather. However, I also think that I may just not be that accustomed to this sort of film, which is why I felt all these types of mini criticisms.

 

As a horror film, there weren’t really scenes that actually frightened me nor were out most disturbing either. I personally felt confused at times and wondering what to expect next. “What other aspect can be inserted in this film?” The creativity I do respect, and appreciate at that because it’s not the typical combination. Like in Mark Jancovich’s text, “Genre and the audience:

Genre classifications and cultural distinctions in the mediation of The Silence of the Lambs”, he brings up what Ien Ang observed on the apparent difference in taste in genres, and how “the meanings of the differences” are what actually matters. In which these meanings can be taken in by taking into note their “contexts, social and cultural bases, and impacts”. In the context of the horror film, it is shown that there are horror fanatics who try to separate themselves from those who are not as legitimate as them such as the “gory horror movie” fanatics. While on the other hand those fans who enjoy the excessive gore criticize them back with mentions of enjoying films that are what they see as a “cop out”. In my personal opinion though, debates like this are quite silly because to me, the whole concepts of films are to enjoy, dissects, and discuss amongst those who find the same enjoyment in doing so. There shouldn’t exactly be a debate on being above another for their personal preference on a particular genre, even horror at that. Though don’t get me wrong, sometimes I tend to make fun of myself and close friends who during our grade school days were somehow obsessed with the Twilight series for example, and then finished the Vampire Diaries CW television series until it just recently ended – no matter how cheesy and corny these vampire-horror-drama storylines were. There are just some things that entertain me even though they are far from other deeper interests of mine such as the Westworld series which is probably a complete 180 degree turn.

 

Jancovichs’s chapter reminded me of the constant division that human beings seem to bring about even in the most petty situations such as genre interest. Nearing the end of our horror film course though, I found it quite interested to read this portion because I was reminded of why I do enjoy watching films and television series of all types of genres, and how there are also so many genres that can’t seem to grasp my interest at all. What I respect though is that others may have different taste from my own, and the fact that I’ve learned more ways on how to dig deeper and dissect films under the horror genre is something that I now really appreciate. My taste probably sharpened because of being given all these different movies, such as Spring, that not only opened my perspective to the genre that I typically enjoy, but also made me realize that I can actually not enjoy a movie. Being able to critique in all the movies that I didn’t exactly 100% enjoy has taught me that I don’t always have to say I liked or didn’t like a movie, but really understand and try to explain why in a more logical conversational sense.

Reference:

Mark Jancovich, “Genre and the Audience: Genre Classifications and Cultural Distinctions in the Mediation of The Silence of the Lambs.”

Leave a Reply

